Economics graduate shares her STEM story

chloeann

Ever since I can remember, I've always loved Maths so a career in STEM came naturally. I love being able to solve problems and I enjoy the fact that with Math, there’s only one answer and that’s based on fact.

At 13, my maths teacher taught us about the various maths-based careers available. One career path which really stood out to me was Actuaries, I was fascinated by the fact that they deal with the probability of future events.

My love for maths eventually led me to study Economics and Actuarial Science at the University of Southampton, where I was one of the few females on the course.

After I graduated, I applied for Nationwide for many reasons, one of them being its great reputation.

It’s financially sound and prides itself on keeping employees and customers satisfied. I also strongly agree with the company’s PRIDE values and I felt that they matched with my own personal ethics.

I currently work as a Business Analyst - although I’m not currently an Actuary, I’m very happy with my current role on the Commercial Insights team at Nationwide. My job allows me to use the skills I learnt during my degree (logical and analytical mind-set) by analysing datasets but also combined with engaging with different teams across the business to provide insights.

The thing that came as the biggest surprise to me about working here is the atmosphere in the office.

As this is my first office job, I wasn't sure what to expect but the picture in my head was that it would be very formal. In reality, it is a very relaxed place and everyone is very friendly, whilst remaining professional at the same time.

I would say that my role is more varied than the traditional STEM roles. We don’t have set pieces of work, so each week we look at something different and our work really varies. This keeps it interesting and means I get the opportunity to work with people from all over the business.

If I could give anyone studying STEM advice, it would probably be to enjoy yourself and aim to get a job that you’ll love.

The work-life balance here is really great; it’s rare that I need to work over my contracted hours. Outside of work I play korfball for the Didcot Dragons Korfball Club. It’s a mixed sex sport from the Netherlands with similarities to netball and basketball. I also enjoy spending time with my family (I have 4 sisters!) back in Norfolk so I try and go back there when I can.

I know I've made my parents proud - I was the first in my family to get a degree and move away from Norfolk (which for those who know Norfolk is a really big deal!). I do think they wish I was a little closer though as the 5 hour drive to visit isn't ideal !

Take a look at what roles we have available for Graduates here

Leave a Comment

* Indicates a required field